Dudley Wins Again, 4-way Championship Battle Set for Regular Season Finale

Admin September 13, 2016 0
Dudley Wins Again, 4-way Championship Battle Set for Regular Season Finale

Kyle Dudley picked up his sixth win of the season on Sunday night during the 9/11 Tribute Night at Franklin County Speedway.

Dudley took advantage of a competition caution on lap 20 to take the lead away from early race leader Ricky Gillespie and despite a strong challenge from Gillespie, Dudley held on for the victory. Gillespie held off a hard charging Jonathan Hall for second position. Despite having surgery on his foot last week, Hall had his best performance of the season finishing third. Nathan Wheat and Wesley Thomason rounded out the top five finishers.

Dudley leads a four-way battle for the championship into the regular season finale on Saturday night September 24th. Dudley, Devin Steele, Ricky Gillespie and Wesley Thomason are locked in a four-way tie for the Chase for the 2016 Championship heading into the final points race. Dudley is seeded first due to his six wins versus Steele’s four victories. Gillespie has one win on the season and Thomason hasn’t picked up a feature win yet this season.

Barry Wilson picked up his seventh win of the season keeping the $200 bounty in tact despite strong challenges from Scott Foley early and AJ Sanders late in the race. Wilson picked up the victory over Sanders, Chad Burnopp, Brittany Cockram and Jessie Yopp. The win prompted track promoter Langley Austin to increase the bounty from $200 to $400 for Saturday September 24th, which is expected to attract a host of new Mini Stock competitors to an already strong field of 14 cars.

Wilson is also locked into a championship battle in a tie with three other competitors as the Chase for the 2016 Championship hits a climax on Saturday September 24th. Wilson, Wayne Gillespie, Chad Burnopp and Brittany Cockram will all battle for the championship in the seasons final points race. Which ever driver finishes the highest will win the championship.

Mikey Reed picked up his third win of the season in the U-Car feature after Tony Housman was disqualified following the race. Reed was followed by pole winner WJ Altizer, Larry Isley Jr., Michael Bennett and JR Heath. Reed is also locked atop the points standings with three other competitors including WJ Altizer, Larry Isley Jr. and Derek Radford as the division heads into it’s points finale on Saturday September 24th.

Jason Warsing picked up the win in the Street Stock division over Colton Smallwood and James Woods. Warsing has locked up the 2016 championship and will celebrate his title on Saturday September 24th.

Jay Quintrell picked up the win in the Future Stars division over his younger brother Aaron Quintrell. Abby Altice and Ethan Heath completed the field. Those four drivers are locked in a four-way championship battle tied at the top of the points standings and will settle it out on Saturday September 24th.

Wesley Thomason picked up the win in the Non-Winners Late Model Stock Car race in a thrilling side by side battle with Jonathan Hall to the finish of the 10-lap event. Tim Giesen picked up the win in the Non-Winners Mini Stock race over Wayne Gillespie who led early but was spun while battling for the lead. Jessie Yopp in his first night back picked up a third place finish.

James King picked up the win in the Any Car feature over a 12-car field. Bryan Thornhill finished second with Jerry King third. A $1,000 to Win Any Car race is set for Saturday September 24th.

The Mini Cup division was not in action but they’ll be back in action on Championship night as Jason Quintrell and Jeff Davis battle it out for the championship as they come into the finale tied atop the points standings. The highest finishing driver will win the championship.

Franklin County Speedway is back in action on Saturday September 24th with the “Night of Champions”. It’ll be the first Saturday night race of the season and all divisions will crown a champion as the Chase for the 2016 Championship comes to a dramatic finish with most divisions with four drivers eligible to win the championship. A fireworks show will cap off the 2016 points season before the Fall Series of races begins on October 1st.

For more information please visit www.FCSpeedway.com or visit the tracks Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/MoonshineCapitalPromotions/ or contact the track via phone at 276.613.4208.